Month: November 2012

  • A little festive volunteering

    Woke up early and set up a cookie decorating table for kids to visit. Enjoyed getting some warpaint done at the girls’ face-painting table… y’know, to intimidate my physics exam. Pretty sure I passed… hopefully bahaha. Life is still weird but I’m not really doing anything to fix it.

     

    I’m kind of in the passenger seat in terms of relationships at the moment… and the person in the driver’s seat is going “LOOK, NO HANDS!” while gassing it hard.

    (That’s not my hand, ha. A bro was reppin’ the frat for me in the picture! lmao)

    I really must stop forgetting my sheet music in inconvenient places, like my mother’s house in Tejas. Especially when my concert is Friday. Luckily she knows how to operate a scanner!

    Stay chill.

    -b.

  • Skinny Love and thoughts

     

     

    Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. Fool me three times… now you’re just a bad habit. I really don’t know what I’m chasing after anymore… my life may very well be so tranquil that I’m looking for ways to sabotage my slow and steady progress. And it turns out, you were the perfect way for me to throw myself back into the problems of what really wasn’t that long ago.

    How lame.

     

    -b.

     

  • Formals night

    I am so very proud of the guys and girls that crossed on Friday night. And then the after party was… extremely surreal. It felt like I was living out an alternate universe. One hell of a universe filled with badassery, ha.

     

     


    The Zoetic Zetas! :)

     

    Pledge Dad and Pledge Captain!

     

     

    Our pledges made us a banner as well as a paddle. They did a great job. :)

     

    I sang my pledge kids a three song medley about how I feel about them as well. :)

     

    Life got really interesting really fast. I am still trying to process as the sand timer icon in my head spins trying desperately to sort out what is reality, lol.

     

    -b.

  • Right Away, Great Captain! – What A Pity cover (rough-ish)

     

    This song has always catches my ear when it plays in my car… I am slowly edging my voice back into singing more, but honestly it hasn’t felt healthy in a while. First with the chest congestion, and after that cleared up, I think I have an upper respiratory tract infection now–can’t it all just stop so my voice can feel 100% good again? Wish everyone around me wasn’t sick too. :(

    This song really represents what I love about a lot of RAGC! songs… such simply written music that is so rewarding to play. This felt so rough that I’m probably just gonna give in and post another take later. I have now posted a less rough recording that I’m less embarrassed about, ha. :)

     

    “What A Pity” by Right Away, Great Captain!

     

    What a pity that it is
    The way to come back home
    I tried to make a point
    To sell the last of what I own
    Well I can feel your breeze
    Begin to choke my living soul
    But I promise that its worth it

    What a pity that it is
    To write you in a song
    I tried to make the words

    Become the kingdom to your soul
    No matter how I try
    It’s just a lyric nothing more
    And it cant be worth it

    What a pity that it is
    To know that your alone
    I tried to clean your place up

    Make it feel like you were home
    No matter how I try
    It’s still a house on sand, you know
    And I’m not really worth it
     
    No I’m never really worth it
    And it’s not really worth it
     
     
    -b.
  • Make You Feel My Love recording (rough)

    This is a rough cover of Bob Dylan’s “Make You Feel My Love”, which has also been covered by numerous other artists over the years. This is rough in that this is a recording without warmup or notice when I should be practicing some vocal rest… aaaand my roommate actually comes home in the middle of the second chorus…. nevertheless, the one-man-show in my room goes on, ha.

     

    Still shouldn’t be singing until I’m completely healed up, but I couldn’t resist… again. Gonna keep takin’ it easy.

    I feel like hugging someone now.

     

    -b.

  • “Who Says” – a cover of rebellious celebration

    I’m not supposed to be singing right now. I’m probably not supposed to be celebrating too hard either…

    Just a lil bit though.

    Congrats to CO and WA this election year! Very happy about cannabis legislation and same-sex marriage progress!

     

    Strong showing for Obama as well. I approve. Well done, ‘Murica.

     

    “Do more of what makes you happy and does not hurt others.”

    -b.